John’s Gone Home

This is a song I wrote for my brother and sang at his memorial this past Saturday, April 22, 2017.

John’s Gone Home

John left home as a baby boy
Born into the world without a choice
But our mother loved him so
And she wanted him to know
That he is forever in her heart
And she’d pray they’d never part
John soon lost his innocent way
And now we’re left to say,

John’s gone home, “Mama don’t you cry!”
You and I will always wonder why
But when we look to heaven above
You will feel my brother’s love
And with a deep and heavy sigh
You and I can look to the sky
John’s gone home, “Mama don’t you cry!”

John left home when just a child
Exploring a side that was always wild
But the voices inside his head
left him seeing the color red
Picking up his paper and pen
He wrote it all down and then
The Word began to unfold
as the greatest story never told

John’s gone home, “Mama don’t you cry!”
You and I will always wonder why
But when we look to heaven above
You will feel my brother’s love
And with a deep and heavy sigh
You and I can look to the sky
John’s gone home, “Mama don’t you cry!”

John left home as a troubled man
Started a family from which he ran
But he carried them through life
Throughout his bitterness and strife
Yet he wanted his children to know
That he would always watch them grow
A father’s sins redeemed in the son
But now my brother’s gone…

John’s gone home, “Mama don’t you cry!”
You and I will always wonder why
But when we look to heaven above
You will feel my brother’s love
And with a deep and heavy sigh
You and I can look to the sky
John’s gone home, “Mama don’t you cry!”

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to John’s Gone Home

  1. Faye says:

    Beautiful prose. Wonderful tribute.

    Like

  2. oldepunk says:

    So sorry for your loss man. I don’t know what I would do without my brother. God be with you and your family.

    Like

  3. I’m sorry for the loss of your brother. A wonderful tribute that you wrote in his honor. Pray that His comfort be with you, your mom, and your brother’s family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

