American Legacy

In desperation my toil continues
for wages gone before given
Debtors and creditors demand blood
for a life barely worth living

I am the model for my children
and breadwinner for my family
Yet it grows harder day by day
to find gratitude along the way

Thus I look about for new work
one lateral to where I am now
To make it just one more day
Only to have more bills to pay

Somehow I must remind myself
that I’m leaving a legacy
But I’m not a trailblazer
And the path now seems concrete

When I’m dead and gone what’s left
are only the fading memories
Yet if I have loved hard enough
They will echo into eternity

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to American Legacy

  1. Emma Beane says:

    Absolutely beautiful!! … it could have been me… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Faye says:

    Beautifully expressed BUT………the Truth is if you love deeply enough, even through the problems your legacy will be far more tangible than just a memory. ‘stuff’ material ‘stuff’ is only an illusion of legacy. Real Legacy is that which is unshakeably founded in ‘unconditional’ LOVE.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

