Poetry Challenge 2017 #4 – Ninefold Style

This is the fourth week of the challenge in the year 2017! The following poem is a “ninefold poem.” This is a new style of poem I created last year. It is defined by having three stanzas each with three lines and nine syllables. The first stanza must represent the aspect of body; it can be visceral and evoke the five senses. The second stanza must represent the aspect of mind; it can be about thoughts and perceptions. The final stanza must represent the aspect of spirit;it should evoke emotion or some concept of the supernatural realm.

Please follow these additional brief rules:
1. Add “ninefold” as a tag.
2. Link back to the challenge
3. I’ll link you in next week’s challenge.

Childlike Wonder

Vibrant colors across the spectrum
Symphonic chords strummed throughout nature
Fragrant aromas drift wondrously

Curious we seek eternally
Asking questions others conceived not
Wondering at all life’s miracles

Every joy is seeded with this
Gratitude and love swelling within
Gifting the world with our inner peace

Last Week’s Entries

The Word Bird – A Wake Up

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Poetry Challenge 2017 #4 – Ninefold Style

  1. Great idea! I hope to cook one up soon..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Ninefold Poem – Unusual Scent – Ramblings of a Writer

  3. kiwinana says:

    Hi, here’s my first ninefold poem. Let me know if it’s not right. https://ramblingsofawriter2016.com/2017/02/04/ninefold-poem-unusual-scent/

    Like

  4. Pingback: Barefoot Memories | sailorpoet

  5. S Francis says:

    I do hope I did the mechanics right and counted right!
    https://sailorpoet.com/2017/02/06/barefoot-memories/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: A Reluctant Muse – The Word Bird

    • It’s an incredibly challenging format. Even though I invented the format I have difficulty transitioning from the first stanza (the easiest) to the second (the hardest). This is very close to following the format but the second stanza doesn’t reflect the aspect of “mind” as strongly as the first stanza reflects “body”. This isn’t a criticism in any way. It’s a complicated format. I’ll include this link in this week’s challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

      • S Francis says:

        I can see your point, I as going after that moment when a physical phenomena we experience starts to bring back a faded memory however the memory ends up being more of a sensation than a real, visceral memory. While I am happy with how I expressed this, it ends up being a pretty looser interpretation of the format. Body = walking through the rain. Mind = a vague memory trying to reassert itself. Spirit = the memory being just a ghost that passes through the soul and not the mind. I appreciate you including mine in the link.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I thought that might’ve been what you were going for 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for following my blog “On My Shelf.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

