Long Time Release

In childhood I was hurt
I was broken and abandoned
Taught the Way of Shame
Mastering anger and rage
Told never to cry
unless I was bleeding
Bearing the childish sins
of my younger siblings

A dog who was my only friend
was cast out into the cold
abandoned in such a way
that mirrored my feelings
I only ever felt alone
unwanted and unneeded
There was no one to defend
the innocence of my youth

Yet time heals all wounds
and though cliche it may be
The choice to hold tight
to anger, hatred, and pain
is mine alone to bare
the only release available
is to loosen that steel grip
with gratitude in my heart

In this present moment of life
I see who I am and smile
For though pain was heaped upon me
it forged me into this man
and I accept my past’s path
Now the best road to peace
is to look these gifts in the face
and smile at the precious grace.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long Time Release

  1. Faye says:

    oH. What an incredible man you will be if you acknowledge and realize that forward is where your still untapped potential lies. Life becomes more valuable with more possibilities as long as we are not dragging behind the baggage of the past. It is the untapped FUTURE where goals not yet imagined come to fruition.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

