Poetry Challenge 2017 #1 – Ninefold Style

This is the first week of the challenge in the year 2017! The following poem is a “ninefold poem.” This is a new style of poem I created last year. It is defined by having three stanzas each with three lines and nine syllables. The first stanza must represent the aspect of body; it can be visceral and evoke the five senses. The second stanza must represent the aspect of mind; it can be about thoughts and perceptions. The final stanza must represent the aspect of spirit;it should evoke emotion or some concept of the supernatural realm.

Please follow these additional brief rules:
1. Add “ninefold” as a tag.
2. Link back to the challenge
3. I’ll link you in next week’s challenge.

My entry this week:

Cold North Winds

Sharp and frigid the zenith winds blow
Shiv’ring and numb against ice and snow
Frost clings to the beard in earthly woe

Memory flows to the distant past
and of Viking lands both wide and vast
and the shadow that Valhalla cast

For there I am hung up on the tree
Sacrificed for the Wisdom of Three
Arisen again for all to see

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Poetry Challenge 2017 #1 – Ninefold Style

  1. elpitchford says:

    Intriguing. I like that you invented your own poetic form. What was your inspiration for this and do you have previous posts outlining the invention and evolution of the form?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do have other examples. If you utilize the wordpress search and look for “ninefold poetry” or just “ninefold” there are many I’ve created and some other excellent authors who posted their own versions as well.

      The inspiration happened during a period of writer’s block and I was looking to challenge myself. I wanted to adapt my own personal spirituality into the art form in some way. It isn’t all encompassing but is actually very challenging as-is.

      Like

  2. swarmsandbee says:

    This has got me all of a whir…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: WordPress.com Blogging University Day Nine Assignment: Get Inspired By the Neighbors – elPitchford at the Edge of the World

    • Thank you for linking to my challenge. I’m interested to see what your followers think of invented forms. For me it’s an exercise in stepping outside of the literary box while simultaneously creating a new box to play in. This is largely antithetical to free verse, but allows the writer to stretch in new ways.

      Like

  4. Pingback: A Time Once Past – The Word Bird

  5. kiwinana says:

    Just found this post, have bookmarked it will be coming back to check it out as soon as I have time. Like challenging new poetry forms.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

