A Friendship Gone

This morning I awoke with thoughts
of a friendship long passed
remembering my own folly
in a moment of bitter weakness

She had come to visit after death
had been so close to consuming me
in a darkened haze my lips parted
ushering forth a confession of love

She told me I should have told her
at the moment I first realized it
but I could not all those years ago
as it was unrequited and never about me

I fumbled further with those words
asking a question only a fool would
eliminating all possible futures
“If you weren’t married would we have a chance?”

Only a few more times would we speak
and never again so closely as we had
all gratitude I could muster for her visit
buried beneath the weight of desperation

She was right for being ever silent
for I had lofted her upon a pedestal
I had no right to build for her
thus stripped the safety of our friendship

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Friendship Gone

  1. Faye says:

    Beautifully written. Are you who you are because of it? Are you growing and moving forward?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. randyjw says:

    I’m more happy that it seems you’ve regained health — at least it’s a hope. So, that is good, and I’m sorry about your lost love, and happy for you to have had the chance to have once felt that, regardless of eventual outcome.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. randyjw says:

    Yeah… that’s the spirit! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

