Unexpected Shifts in Writing

Over the weekend it occurred to me that the next writing projects I am working on are vastly different than what I had originally set out to write on when I first imagined becoming published. It was my goal to write a vast fantasy series set on an alien world that I had used for many years as the setting for games my friends and I had played. A great deal has already been written as background information for that setting when I went on a huge creative bender in 2010. The results of which are the incomplete pages of Novendragos 

I had actually gotten incredibly serious about turning that setting into a roleplaying game and began design in earnest. Most of the mechanics were outlined and in the early alpha stage of design. However the work is incredibly daunting when you are one person working on a complicated game set in a vast universe. Several chapters were completed but then abruptly halted. I still have hopes of completing the work but the motivation simply hasn’t been there.

In the meantime I’ve written a ton of poetry. However poetry, in the grand scheme of things, is easy. I can write it in between calls at work. I can do it in as little as 15 minutes time. I can publish regularly and have my material read daily on this blog. The issue with the poetry is that there comes a time where the material begins to appear redundant and cliche. While somber and melancholy poetry is the most popular, it is also the most overdone form of poetry. I do enjoy writing positive and enlightening poetry, however that poetry comes only when my mood reflects the subject at hand. Thus, when in a depressive cycle as I currently am, it is much more difficult to produce.

This brings me back to my original thought — that the course of my big writing projects has changed from where I originally intended it. The first writing project, inspired by the most recent relationship I was involved in, is an anthology of three novellas that are semi-autobiographical in nature. The structure is designed to encompass three separate stories that are separate but overlap in time. Writing in novella format allows me to tell three separate stories completely and more coherently than a memoir would. The second subject is one that I never thought in a million years I would write. The content is darker and tragic more like an independent film might be than a sweeping fantasy epic.

What is the point of this short yet verbose blog? The point is that, as a writer, we can build ourselves up to what kind of writer we are going to be but along the road write something entirely away from center that ends up being more poignant than all the rest. This isn’t to say that my current projects are more poignant than my other projects. However I certainly am more connected to them. As I work on these projects the work here on the blog may slow down. I encourage readers to keep reading as I have around 300 works published here. Thank you all for reading this rather disjointed update on my writing affairs.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Rants, Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Unexpected Shifts in Writing

  1. Thanks for the update. As a writer, I totally get this!

    Good luck with whatever projects your Muse claims you for! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nanny14 says:

    Great! looking forward to seeing your new, true, self, appear.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Faye says:

    Finding what your real voice is takes a lifetime. I am only now much older than you finding who I really am and the niche I express myself more clearly in. Who would have ever imagined Historical fiction with a Christian heartbeat?……I thought I was to be a journalist….Just the facts, mate. Lots of poetry etc on the way. Keep writing…..keep experimenting. The blogs, I believe are to simply keep ‘connected’ and encourage others as well as our selves. Cheers!

    Like

  4. sam1128 says:

    Where we start and where we end up is often different I started off with a love story and ended up with a stalker. Your first project has maybe become too much of a hill to climb maybe it needs chopping down into manageable chunks and revisiting on a regular basis until the juices flow again. Poetry whilst satisfying on the whole has a small audience and I think most of us write that for our own pleasure as much as for an audience. Goid luck with your projects.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

