Gray Dream

Where have they all gone?
My old companions.
I lay here and weep
beneath skies of gray.
Knee bent at the base
of statues long decayed
forms barely recognizable
and yet I know each of them.

I was closest to the Hero.
Throughout all of time
he and I were inseparable.
His love showed in every action
and our destined Work
was the Work of all.
Now all that remains
stands atop this pedestal.

A special tear was shed
For She who was our Sophia
whose Light spread warmth
to the hearts of old knights
and whose spirit emboldened
the very power of our Work
Yet in this bleak dream
the Dark fell even upon Her

No knee could ever bend
at the foot of the Soldier
Our friend in fair weather
but in the eye of the storm
it was his blade piercing
as our backs were turned
How he and I alone lived
I shall never understand

Only one statue remained
at which I would pay respect
The grizzled faceless Hermit
who had lost everything
In the vast landscape of gray
Crooked staff in hand
I wept for the solitude
Then stood up and walked on.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gray Dream

  1. Faye says:

    A thought…….If we focus on the future with Hope does this negate or downgrade our thoughts, ie sorrows and regrets of the past? or…..can we ‘forgive’ the past and our part in it and walk on triumphantly treading underfoot the past (keeping valuable memories) but determine a new and better future? I have come to my own conclusions but put it up as a comment. Have a great day!

    Like

  2. Faye says:

    Forgot to mention. The poem is beautifully crafted and meaningful in every way. (my humble thought)

    Like

  3. Pingback: Gray Dream — Ninefold Evolution | Gemstars

Leave a Reply

