Ode to Opposite Action

I want to spend time with you
as much as I enjoy time alone
We can laugh, talk, and play
reminding each other who we are

I yearn to be kind to others
because judgement divides us
We can live peacefully together
teaching cooperation to one another

I am driven to working hard
for progress is greater than failure
We can only take a step forward
by placing one foot after the other

I open my heart to forgiveness
as dwelling on pain decays the soul
We can let go of our hurts and cares
by accepting gratitude into our hearts

I offer my hand to help others
because every soul is worth it
We can build a community together
through aiding those who are in need

I stand in the face of my fears
as much as I want to run
We can learn to embrace courage
knowing that this isn’t the end.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ode to Opposite Action

  1. This was written out of the choice to not submit myself to my current depressive state by instead choosing to engage in the emotional regulation skill known as “Opposite Action” as taught in DBT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CarissaMarie says:

    This was well done! I enjoyed reading this! May this writing style help pull you out of the funk!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thiaBasilia says:

    Exactly to be done by the power of love from on high. 🙂

    Like

  4. Faye says:

    This poem is beautifully expressed and crafted. What it says is beyond the words. Living in this world, holding fast to what is beautiful and better, is like ‘living above’ the stuff while being aware of it all. My suggestion is always express like this…. when it comes…. it is such an encouragement to others and that is life’s highest goal I believe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

