Apotheosis

Iron gripped like a warhammer
Brow furrowed in aggression
Sweat beads down reddened flesh
Heart pounds like drums of war
And then the hounds are released
Gravity presses against me
And I press back against it
Deep breath in and chest rises
As the weight continues descent
Forced breath out, muscles taut,
As my strength overcomes in ascent

Muscle beneath flesh tears
In healing they swell and harden
Forming draconic ripples and scales
Veins popping forth pumping
Life-giving blood flowing with ease
Collections of fatty deposits
Dissolve amidst the Dragon’s blood
Shoulders raise and are rounded
Arms thicken and firm
Chest fills and barrels
Waist tightens and tones
Legs firm and become oaken

I turn to face my Self
within the mirror before me
Youth restored to my visage
Vigor returned where once lost
Eyes gleam with renewed hunger
For a life once thought fallen
But no longer
As the Dragon spreads its wings
I have risen once more.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Apotheosis

  1. annwjwhite says:

    Enjoyed your transformation. Excellent vocabulary usage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Faye says:

    What a great and powerful poem. Wonderful imagery and word pictures that fire imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

