The Road to Change

The other day I wrote an article on transformation and today those transformative energies are just flowing through me in a way that I haven’t felt in about two years. Because of this euphoric feeling I want to take a moment to describe some of what I’m doing, why I am doing it, and confess to where I went wrong over the past few years. This article is purely my own anecdotal evidence and any science described will be used merely to enhance the anecdote.

food1-82194105_std

Over the course of the past year I have rarely had a health meal. I am not kidding when I say that I purposely ate a narrow variety of junk food every single day. Breakfast consisted of two candy bars and a sugar free energy drink. Lunch consisted of meat and cheese sticks and two clif bars. Dinner would vary between ordering Jimmy John’s or getting gas station garbage. On the weekend I would typically isolate and not leave the apartment. So I would order Jimmy John’s at least twice and occasionally have a full Jack’s pizza or a half gallon of ice cream. This is an incredibly destructive diet and I knew it. I was not eating out of ignorance. I was eating out of not caring. My energy was gone. My motivation was gone. I had gained weight. Though I must admit I didn’t gain as much as I thought.

image_sugar

Online author at Everyday Health, Therese Borchard, wrote an article that combines anecdote with cited sources declaring the massive impact that sugar has on depression. She cites Mark Hyman, MD who writes in his book “The Ultramind Solution” that high sugar levels produce massive inflammation which spreads to the brain and increases depression. She further cites the Brain Bio Center which reinforces Dr Hyman’s views stating that excessive glucose in the blood lead to symptoms including “fatigue, irritability, dizziness, insomnia, excessive sweating (especially at night), poor concentration and forgetfulness, excessive thirst, depression and crying spells, digestive disturbances and blurred vision.” Journalist Sara Wilson, who battle’s with Hashimoto’s, completely quit sugar after it had nearly crippled her life. Both my biological father and my stepdad died at relatively young ages. One was 60 while the other was 67. Both led physically unhealthy lives and I could see that I was en route to a pattern of living that would end my life even earlier.

how-superfoods-healhome

Knowing that my health was declining and that I needed a new way of eating that didn’t feel like a diet I began to do some research. My daughter did a lot of research as well independent of my own research. I am not going to put a name to what I’m doing even if it was inspired by certain diets. I feel like naming it makes it a fad. This isn’t a fad but rather how I want to eat moving forward. I feel that this works for me incredibly well. The overarching goal is to eat sustainably and maintain both positive macro and micro nutrients.

Breakfast looks like this:
1 Cup Bulletproof Coffee
1 Evolv Shake (mixed into the coffee)

First break at work:
1 Evolv Lifebar

Lunch:
1 Salad (mixed with spinach and other superfoods and flavored with apple cider vinegar and extra virgin olive oil)
1 Meat (beef or pork)

Dinner
4 XL Eggs
1 Salad (mixed with spinach and other superfoods and flavored with apple cider vinegar and extra virgin olive oil)

Any time I need additional carbohydrates I will snack on the following:
Carrots, Winter Squash, Sweet potatoes, Yams, Rutabaga, Cassava, White rice, Lemons, limes, Tomatoes, Berries (Strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, cranberries, blueberries), Melons (cantaloupe, honeydew), Citrus(grapefruit, oranges), Peach, nectarine, etc

I went into more detail than I intended to here. I had largely meant to say, “I cut out all sugar!” Hopefully this helps someone else too.

29d171c

I’ve only been doing this since Sunday but today I just feel so energized. The only time I’ve experienced this level of energy previously is when I’ve taken high-end fat burners. The first few days I did struggle with hunger pangs but today I’m doing really well. I think I’m adjusting. A coworker said I was looking good and I was incredibly grateful for hearing that. The amazing thing here is that this all dietary change only. I’ve been walking a mile a day and did yoga only once this week. I’m hoping after a week of adjusting to the diet I’ll be prepared to hit weights and cardio.

There are a few other things that were impacting my health as well that I wanted to address. Sleep apnea was impacting me far more negatively than I thought. In 2014 I was on the road to getting back in shape and losing weight more slowly than ever. I was really suffering with sleep and never felt rested. There is a lot of science backing up the increase of cortisol levels at night and not decreasing overnight when sleep is constantly interrupted. Essentially that hormone was wreaking havoc on my system. This year’s sleep test and purchase of the CPAP was a godsend. While I am still not getting a full night’s sleep I am definitely more rested and receiving more oxygen. I am hoping this helps lower the cortisol levels that were destroying my progress two years ago.

While we’re on the subject of cortisol, I was also overtraining. I have already discussed my obsessive nature elsewhere. Needless to say I was hitting the weights and cardio hard and for extended periods of time. Overtraining also leads to high levels of cortisol. I am not certain why I didn’t think about it, but the one time I was receiving very good results I was working out far less. Lifting three days a week. Cardio the other three. I was doing both six days a week. That needs to change and it’s going to.

In closing I just want to say that no matter how down you feel or how bad your diet is, there is always opportunity to adjust. I’m going to avoid beating myself up this time around and I’m going to focus on lifestyle and let the weight loss be a side effect of good living. Thank you all for reading this verbose article.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Road to Change

  1. jennavive72 says:

    So glad that you are feeling so much more energy after just a week of changing your diet! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. krysiakorsak says:

    What a brilliant read! Bravo! Well done you… This is just great to see! I can feel your new found energy and euphoria… All the best to you! Keep well and happy! Take care… 🌞

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

