Where I Went Right

I know where I went wrong
all those long years ago
A boy pretending to be a man
lost in the chaos of a family
that was broken from the start

I did not fall in love
though I had certainly thought so
I was lost in a thick fog
where the future was uncertain
and the dreams of youth had died

I married her after my seed was planted
and the fertilized egg began to grow
into something terribly beautiful
Yet my companions Fear and Doubt
let their sickness fester in me.

I stayed until the awareness grew
into revelation that love
had never truly existed between us
and thus we dissolved what was begun —
No regrets for two children born

I then found unrequited love
for a woman distant and unprepared
though I was just as unprepared
Yet I gave without asking
and asked too much without giving

I foibled and fumbled love since
and hurt incubated quickly
within this lonely and bitter heart
But there was always hope
that someone out there would see.

I found love in a distant city
and was both Hermit and catalyst
trapped by soft lips
lulled by honey-dipped words
and destined to finality

I finally found Her back home
where it all began
when the winds picked up
upon the side of an ancient hill
and I will serve Her ad infinitum.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where I Went Right

  1. krysiakorsak says:

    …deeply profound and moving, and so personally insightful. From the earthly to the ethereal…a most beautiful poem. Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

