Apnea

Drowning in the absence of breath
Nostrils glued shut

Not once…
Not ten times…

Forty times my breath stops
every hour of the night
for ten unremembered seconds

Dreams continue on
while small deaths
are largely forgotten

Yet the deaths linger on
as the light fades
from once youthful eyes
and once-strong muscles weaken
beneath a heart working too hard
and breath becomes shallow
like an old murky pond
while oaken legs swell
with pooled water that
refuses to recycle

All this for the absence of breath
The absence of sleep
For years upon years
And yet I linger on.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Apnea

  1. Courtney says:

    Wow, just wow

    Liked by 1 person

  2. krysiakorsak says:

    Wow, what an intense detailed description of what it must feel like to suffer from Sleep Apnea? Do you suffer from it? I kind of feel that you must do, as this just feels such an accurate description and so vivid…if you do have it I hope you are managing to cope with it as I believe it can be pretty debilitating? Great poem ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m getting a CPAP tomorrow morning. I have most likely suffered for a minimum 20 years from it but have been too stubborn to have the sleep test done. This year it got so much worse that I had to do something about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • krysiakorsak says:

        Good Luck my friend with the CPAP…I know not what that is but do so hope it helps! Fingers crossed…20 years is a long long time to have suffered with it….all the Best now, take care. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Prince Themba says:

    Reblogged this on PRINCE THEMBA .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How has the CPAP gone for you? Sleep Apnea can cause so many other medical issues. I hope it’s working for you!

    Like

    • I’ve used it now three days in a row. I didn’t have the profound change I had set myself up to expect, but I do feel a little better. With continued use I’ll begin to feel much better. Next I need to get back into revitalizing my nutritional and exercise needs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

