Wish for Lost Time

Through the window of fading Dream
Begins the monumental Sorrow
Thoughts linger on what might have been
Now we only have tomorrow

Son was full of spirited joy
Love the greatest of his treasure
I long to hold my little boy
But time has stolen that pleasure

My daughter saw the world as art
We conversed about distant lands
That little girl stays in my heart
I long to hold her little hands

Yet time has been my greatest foe
So much of their lives has been missed
Had distance meant my letting go
I would have savored every kiss

They were young and I ungrateful
And now they haunt my nightly dreams
Separation was to be fateful
And yet they love me still it seems

Forevermore the wish is there
To regain all the time we lost
Memories we’d forever share
Yet it is I who paid the cost

They have become such great wonders
Both thrive in ways I want to see
They survive despite my blunders
Move forward is all that can be.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wish for Lost Time

  1. noblethemes says:

    Whoa! This is so very, very striking; it cuts to the depths of my heart because of my own relatable experience. Your poetic, real-to-life words bring tears to my eyes. Truly wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jcnashpoems says:

    So many people will relate to this poem. When we look back we always think that we could have done things better but as you say – they survived despite your blunders and they still love you. Take solace in that and who knows what the future may bring. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Meredith says:

    I have these feelings as well. Working moms must feel it more intensely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vivachange77 says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog and following. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

