Poetry Challenge – Ninefold Style

I would like to offer a challenge. The following poem is a “ninefold poem.” This is a new style of poem that is defined by having three stanzas each with three lines and nine syllables. The first stanza must represent the aspect of body; it can be visceral and evoke the five senses. The second stanza must represent the aspect of mind; it can be about thoughts and perceptions. The final stanza must represent the aspect of spirit;it should evoke emotion or some concept of the supernatural realm.

If you accept the challenge please link back to my page so that credit can be given for the origin of the poem style.

For Her flesh I find myself weakened
As I succumb to her supple curves
Her warmth blankets me with tight embrace

In her own thoughts She is of two minds
Divided between worlds old and new
Knowing two hearts but fearing Her own

Yet still She becomes luminescent
Her compassion radiant and light
Soul beacon to the wanderers lost

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Poetry Challenge – Ninefold Style

  1. pixieannie says:

    Superb. I’d love to try but need to give it some more thought. Might be out of my league.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. lovely poem! I like the style. For some reason I find 9 beats per line fall easily from my fingers onto the screen. Gettin that tenth beat so that sonnets (my chosen form of expression) to work is tough! I’ll have to give this a try when it fits my editorial schedule 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. AmyRose🌹 says:

    I not once stop to even think about syllables or counts or words when I write my poetry. There is a beat or a rhythm in my head that I flow with … Sometimes I rhyme other times no. I’m stunned that so much thought is put into writing as you do. Doesn’t that make it so difficult, pulling all the fun out of it? Or the flow? When I write it many times comes from a “Source” I “hear” which has me running for my pen and pad. I’m in awe of what you do.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Actually the way I write is very akin to what you do. Sometimes a certain line will pop into my head and thus I have to write it down. Once I do the rest of the poem falls around it. Some days I have difficulty “hearing” the “source” and that’s when I look to write on either a specific topic or in a specific style.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. poetjbowers says:

    Thanks for the challenge! I will give it a try….might be some work on my part but I am up for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Morgan says:

    I love your Ninefold premise 😉 I am going to give it a whirl for tomorrow’s poem on Booknvolume 😉 If successful, I’ll link back! Thanks for the Challenge 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: Pools of the Mind | Booknvolume

  7. Pingback: Pools of the Mind | Poet's Corner

  8. Reblogged this on Ninefold Evolution and commented:

    Reblogging the challenge!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Love, Ninefold Challenge Week 1 Catch Up | Kittie Phoenix Living Romans 08

  10. Pingback: NINEFOLD DRAGON’S CHALLENGE | poeturja

Leave a Reply

