Dear Ex-wife

A poem written for my ex-wife on our “exiversary.”

Of the years I count a score
since you and I were wed
Though those years only lasted six
you gave me so much more
We were naive and in our youth
a bitter boy was I
Unprepared for your love
we finally faced the truth
The first child given was a prize
she taught me how to love
filled with light and laughter
We finally opened our eyes
With the next we were blessed
our son was so inspiring
he gave us strength and countless joy
They carry with them our best
We may have fought and disagreed
no more different two there could be
But through it all we had their love
And a child’s love is all we need
Now that they are fully grown
So much occurs to me
Expression of gratitude
For all the care you’ve shown
All you’ve done for them I see
I couldn’t be more thankful
Though we’ve had our spits and spats
I will always love you three.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dear Ex-wife

  1. Reblogged this on Ninefold Evolution and commented:

    Reblogging a gratitude poem to my ex-wife.

    Like

  2. Zeina says:

    Wow, it’s so good to know there are men who are so grateful to their ex-wives, they even write them poems. Faith in humanity restored. Bless you, your ex-wife, and kids. What a mature expression of feelings

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Faye says:

    What a profound and beautiful expression of what it is to be frail imperfect humans with a great capacity to love and appreciate even in disappointments and change. Your soul really does need to find its place. Bless you and all those who know your love.

    Like

  4. This is an amazing and beautiful poem and sentiment. There’s a songwriter Bob Bennett who wrote about his struggles while working through his divorce; that was sometimes hard for me to listen to, but his “Songs from Bright Avenue” is a good collection overall.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. nanny14 says:

    Taking the other side, not sure how the ex would perceive all your attention. Sometimes we have to accept there’s unsaid things and move on to the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    • She likes the poem. Also there isn’t “all” my attention. I wrote this on our exiversary (private joke) and then reposted now. Beyond that I saw her once when my son graduated in June. Both of us have moved on a thousand times over. But gratitude is timeless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

