If I Wait

This poem is a moody reflection on waiting for true love.

If I wait will she ever be free
To find her Love beneath the sun
Where she and I at last are One
where we hold hands eternally

If I wait will she even know
Of all the pain that was felt
In that place where shadow dwelled
Where passions cease to grow

If I wait will she ever care
To hear how often I have whailed
or to know how deeply I failed
where once I held her lasting stare

If I wait will she turn away
For all she has known is fear
Which only quenches when I’m near
Where black night meets new day

If I wait what hope have I
to breathe her breath once more
throughout the dreams of yore
Where love and passion die

If I wait it is because I do
For I will wait forever more
To greet on distance shore
I will wait because I love you.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to If I Wait

  1. jade0207 says:

    Beautifully written! Waiting is another pain of love!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Susan says:

    The poem resonates with me. Perhaps because of the moodiness I am feeling today or the passion you evoke. I love it!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kay says:

    There is so much depth and meaning (at least that I can find) in this particular piece. Just wow. I can definitely relate and wish for similar things when it comes to love. Well done. – Kay

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

