I Am Empty

This poem is not a reflection of my current state. It was a request by a close close friend. One whom I love deeply. I have felt this way myself and this poem is meant to illustrate that though one may feel this way now it is not always going to be this way.

Every sound dissonant
The harmony absent
The melody out of tune
Ears hunger not for symphony
but for silence
and even my cries and screams
do nothing to quell it.

Every color faded
The hues eroded
The glow has washed out
Eyes seek not the rainbow
but for darkness
and neither the shadow nor the highlight
can make the world bright.

This heart, once so filled
emptied out into the ether
where love is lost
and lovers die
when separated ‘neath the sky
Heaven has fallen hard
Now only Hell to call my home.

Better death, eternal slumber,
than to choose one or the other
The only end to bitter shame
Is when I douse my inner flame
Once a beacon but no more
My light burnt out when
You were cast ashore.

Here I am but an empty vessel
alone and weary unlike before
The sacred vanquished
No longer holy
Voice filled with melancholy
All my reason drained away
Like my love that summer day

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

