Just a Hiccup

Every now and then this writer runs into a bit of a snag when it comes to writing. Sometimes it lasts days. Other times it lasts months and even years. This time it lasted only a couple weeks. As a writer I often find myself discouraged at my lack of dedication to my craft. I beat myself up over it. It seems many of us do this for many different reasons. Whether it is working out at the gym, succumbing to addiction, or engaging in activities that allow us to overcome our bouts with depression or other mental health related issues.

I want to let readers know right at the start here that I am a flawed man when it comes to this ideal of making a choice and sticking to it regardless of what is going on in my environment. However, being in this state, I have developed an insider view that many of my more devoted friends may not fully understand. From this state of mind I realize that this “gap” between activities is really just a hiccup.

You see a hiccup is really annoying. It isn’t there for a moment and then gone. It happens quick, but once it’s gone it isn’t really gone is it? No. The moment you feel ready to take a breath there it is. Again! You feel like you’re in this never-ending state of “When the hell is this going to quit?” And right before you end that thought there it is again — another damned hiccup.

Eventually the bout does end though. You move on to normal breathing and have moments where you can’t even remember the bout of hiccups that plagued you so. That’s where we are at with our struggles. Writing is just an example. Just as we continue to breathe despite the hiccup, I continue to write despite the break. Depression. Addiction. Mental illness. It’s all the same essentially. Some of my friends dealing with these issues may disagree. But those good days and bad? Just hiccups.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

