Forgiveness

can-we-be-forgiven_724_494_80

This is an old poem I am publishing here for archival purposes. It was never updated until now. I believe I wrote it circa 2001.

Does God forgive
before the Self is forgiven?
Sins remain until Thought is gone
Moments pass delicately while
I blindly cling to what was and
I turn deaf ears to the future.

My children ohave been wronged and
have forgiven me unconditionally.
The earth has been scarred by me and
still it supports my weight.
I have cried out against the winds of time
yet they continue to gently steer my course.
I have pissed in the waters of life
still they quench my thirst.
I have smothered flames of passion
yet passion roars within me now.
Friends have been pushed away and
still friendships are born anew.

God has forgiven a thousand times.
I have not forgiven once.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forgiveness

  1. Reblogged this on Ninefold Evolution and commented:

    An interesting poem when juxtaposed against Ho’oponopono

    Like

  2. Faye says:

    Forgiveness is the most passionately life-changing emotion any human is capable of. It changes lives. Only God forgives eternally and always the struggle for us is to surrender self enough to know how necessary it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

