The Five Year Old

Me_5yearsold_1

This is an old poem I am publishing here for archival purposes. It was updated May 5, 2001. I do not remember the original date it was authored. This one features a new update and could also be considered a song.

Smile for the five-year-old within you.
Let go of all the anger you’ve held onto.
Compassion becomes you
When you allow him to be exactly what he is.

“But what of my pain?” You ask.
Pain is not the present, but the past.
What matter is the Truth
When he calls out to you…

(Whispering)
(Healing you)

Why behave so selfishly?
To dwell in pain perpetually?
Just one chance to reach our destinies…
Given the choice then this is what I choose.

I will smile upon the hurt little boy in my past
Who never knew why he was so so alone.
I will take his burden and show him the Way
To release the cross laid upon his shoulders.

“But what of my pain?” You ask.
Pain is not the present, but the past.
What matter is the Truth
When he calls out to you…

(Whispering)
(Healing you)

Your triumph will be eternal today
Take the chance to see the moment I say
Breathe in life, See the man and smile
Smile on the five-year-old of his past.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Five Year Old

  1. Reblogged this on Ninefold Evolution and commented:

    Any musicians want to put this to music?

    Like

  2. Faye says:

    Love this poem. One time when I wish I was a musician. It certainly speaks. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

