Burning Embers On My Shoulder

embers

This is an old poem I am publishing here for archival purposes. It was written May 21, 2001. This features a rewrite. The title was the inspiration for the poem as I sat outside at a campfire and an ember drifted down onto my shoulder.

Fire burns orange-red dancing in the Wind.
Sitting here we moved from within.
Eyes interlock — focused, but not.
Fire’s warmth spreads right through me.
Fire’s light drowns out all I can see.
The Earth is the canvas.
The Wind is the brush.
The Tears are inspiration.
The Fire and I are One.

Two lovers held in eternal embrace.
Swirling flames roaring upright
Bottled rage when the cap is tight
Our nostrils burn as we breathe
Our eyes dry as tears boil away.
The past has been torn away.
Our future is forsaken
Here and now is the only time that exists.
The Fire and I are One.

About ninefolddragon

I am a self-proclaimed writer, spiritualist, and warrior. My primary writings are poetry and essays that evoke elemental visualization and are written in honor of the sacred feminine.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burning Embers On My Shoulder

  1. Love the calling of the elements here. Lovely!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on Ninefold Evolution and commented:

    A fitting reblog of an old poem I wrote.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

